Skip navigation

Calls to Action

College Basketball Raises Autism Awareness

February 01, 2014

(February 1, 2014)  NCAA men's basketball coaches and broadcasters raised autism awareness Saturday by wearing the Autism Speaks puzzle piece.  More than 80 head coaches and sportscasters donned the blue Autism Speaks puzzle piece pin, including coaching legends Mike Krzyzewski, Jim Boeheim and Rick Pitino.

The campaign, Autism Awareness Day in College Basketball, was started by Towson Coach Pat Skerry and Marshall Coach Tom Herrion, both fathers of sons with autism, who wanted to bring their beloved sport and the cause of autism awareness together for this day.  The two coaches looked at the schedule for a day when both teams had home games and put the call out to coaches to wear the pin.

In a special post-game interview, Coach Skerry talked about the success of the day and what's ahead. Click below to watch the video:



Said Herrion in an interview with Autism Speaks, "this was a first ever endeavor for us. The goal is to educate all of the country about autism and the depth of what autism is."

Read the full Autism Speaks Interview with Skerry and Herrion here.  

After the game coach Skerry tweeted, "(great) day in college hoops today. Especially to the coaches and media people who wore the @autismspeaks pin. Every child is a story waitin 2b told."

[slideshow:2, order=top, width=585, height=400, img=|/sites/default/files/images/tom-herrion.jpg|||Marshall Coach Tom Herrion with his son Robert before today's game ||, img=|/sites/default/files/images/pat-skerry.jpg|||Towson Coach Pat Skerry talks autism awareness||,img=|/sites/default/files/images/mike-krzyzewski_0.jpg|||Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski||,img=|/sites/default/files/images/roy-williams_0.jpg|||University of North Carolina Coach Roy Williams||,img=|/sites/default/files/images/john-calipari.jpg|||Kentucky Coach John Calipari||, img=|/sites/default/files/images/tom-izzo-michigan-state.jpg|||Michigan State Coach Tom Izzo ||, img=|/sites/default/files/images/cbs-at-the-half.jpg|||CBS at the Half broadcasters Greg Gumbel\, Seth Davis and Doug Gottlieb ||, img=|/sites/default/files/images/alpha-xi-delta-syracuse.jpg|||Alpha Xi Delta sisters with Jamitha Fields of Autism Speaks at the Carrier Dome at Syracuse University||, img=|/sites/default/files/images/fordham-autism-speaks-u.jpg|||Members of Fordham Autism Speaks U chapter||]

The list of coaches who will be participating:

Pat Skerry- Towson

Tom Herrion- Marshall

Bruiser Flint- Drexel

Mike Jarvis- Florida Atlantic

John Calipari- Kentucky

Frank Haith- Missouri

Cuonzo Martin- Tennessee

Anthony Grant- Alabama

Mike Anderson- Arkansas

Johnny Jones- LSU

Mark Fox- Georgia

Tony Barbee- Auburn

Rick Ray- Mississippi St

Kevin Stallings- Vanderbilt

Frank Martin- South Carolina

Andy Kennedy- Mississippi

Billy Kennedy- Texas A&M

Billy Donovan- Florida

Fran McCaffery- Iowa

John Groce- Illinois

John Thompson III- Georgetown

Tom Izzo- Michigan State

Chris Collins- Northwestern

Richard Pitino- Minnesota

Thad Matta- Ohio State

Bo Ryan- Wisconsin

Steve Donahue- Boston college

Mike Brey- Notre Dame

Brad Brownell- Clemson

Leonard Hamilton- Florida State

Mike Krzyzewski- Duke

Jim Boeheim- Syracuse

Brian Gregory- Georgia tech

Jeff Bzdelik- Wake Forest

Mark Turgeon- Maryland

James Johnson- Virginia Tech

Robert Jones- Norfolk St

Jim larranaga- Miami

Mark Gottfried- North Carolina St

Roy Williams- North Carolina

Mike Lonergan- George Washington

Archie Miller- Dayton

Paul Hewitt- George Mason

Jim Crews- St. Louis

Chris Mooney- Richmond

Tom Pecora - Fordham

Shaka Smart- VCU

Buzz Williams- Marquette

Steve Lavin- St. John's

Kevin Willard- Seton Hall

Chris Mack- Xavier

Ed Cooley- Providence

Oliver Purnell- DePaul

Scott Drew- Baylor

Travis Ford- Oklahoma St

Trent Johnson- TCU

Tubby Smith- Texas Tech

Bruce Weber- Kansas St

Bob Huggins- West Virginia

Bill Self- Kansas

Rick Barnes- Texas

Lon Kruger- Oklahoma

Fred Hoiberg- Iowa St

Josh Pastner- Memphis

Larry Brown- SMU

Jay wright Villanova

Fran Dunphy- Temple

Derek Kellogg- U Mass

Phil Martelli- St. Joseph's

Leon Rice- Boise St

Dave Rice- UNLV

James Dickey- Houston

Eddie Jordan- Rutgers

Donnie Jones- Central Florida

Rick Pitino- Louisville

Larry Krystkowiak- Utah

Tad Boyle- Colorado

Herb Sendek- Arizona State

John Dawkins- Stanford

Lorenzo Romar- Washington

Ken Bone- Washington State

Andy Enfield- USC

Dana Altman- Oregon

Sean Miller- Arizona

Mike Montgomery- California