Skip navigation

Calls to Action

7 Autism-Friendly Films for Our Community to Enjoy in 2015!

May 19, 2015

Recently we shared a post by a mother who wrote a blog about How a Movie Theater Manager Gave My Son a Day He Will Never Forget. In the post, she writes about how she and her 9-year-old son went to go see the new Fast and Furious movie. Though he had been looking forward to it for months, after 2 paranormal horror movie trailers were shown, her son had a meltdown.

We realized that an outing to the movies is something many in our community may struggle with. With that, we wanted to spotlight AMC Theatres, who for the past several years have hosted their annual AMC Sensory Friendly Films Program for families affected by autism.

In 2015, select AMC Theatres have already shown five films this year and will be showing sensory-friendly screenings of the following films…

Saturday, May 30, 2015 - TOMORROWLAND

Saturday, June 27, 2015 - INSIDE OUT

Saturday, July 18, 2015 - MINIONS

Saturday, Aug, 2015 - TBD

Saturday, Sep 26, 2015 - HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA

Saturday, Oct 17, 2015 - THE JUNGLE BOOK

Saturday, Nov 14, 2015 - THE PEANUTS MOVIE

Saturday, Dec 5, 2015 - THE GOOD DINOSAUR

The following films have already been shown:

Saturday, Jan 24, 2015 - PADDINGTON

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 - SPONGEBOB SQUARE PANTS: SPONGE OUT OF WATER

Saturday, March 28, 2015 - HOME

Saturday, Apr 25, 2015 - PAUL BLART: MALL COP 2

To make a film sensory friendly, AMC Theatres leaves the lights up, turns down the sound and does not show previews. In 2011, Autism Speaks partnered with actor John Ratzenberger, a long-time friend of the organization, to host an autism-friendly screening of Disney Pixar’s Cars 2 for our community in New York City.

See if your local AMC Theatre is participating here